Posted by: seanoldblog | 2011/05/15

Signature 12 String by Walden

One of the most exciting things to happen lately was when Walden Guitars created a guitar for me.  I had a few requests for a 12 string and had never owned one.  We collaborated on the design and they really hit a home run.

There is now talk of having me come to the Summer NAMM show in Nashville this July to demonstrate it, followed by a clinic tour of the Northeast.  They did release it at this past April’s Musik MESSE in Frankfurt, Germany.  At last year’s MESSE they had a billboard up with my image on it:

Then this year they featured that image on the cover of their 2011 product catalog:

I wrote a short piece for them to describe my experience with the 12 string so far:

Walden 1012e-SH_______________________________________

I came to realize that although I have been getting many requests to use a 12-string on shows and recordings, I have never actually owned one.  A great many of my heroes had incorporated them into their art – from Pat Metheny to Glen Campbell, Ralph Towner to Mick Ralphs – I knew it was a craving I had to indulge.  I called Walden.

The Supra Natura 1070 was such a perfect instrument for me that I wanted a 12-string in the same line.  I have never been a big fan of dreadnaught guitars for a variety of reasons, and I wondered if the Grand Auditorium body could sprout a 12-string neck?  Apparently, it could – now here it is; they did it!

Like all my other guitars, I need my 12-string to be versatile, the way the G1070ce is.  I never know from one week to the next what the project will be.  And then there’s my original music, where I’m constantly drawing on as many influences as I’m aware of at any given time.  I need a guitar that can keep up.

So far I’ve used the G1012e-SH on recordings with other instruments, and in layers with other guitars.  I’ve also used it in very intimate performance situations: solo, in duet with voice, and a duet with trombone.  In all cases, it has held its own just fine.  It has a full range without exaggerating or overpowering any frequency.  Just nice and even, full bodied sound.  It has a voice I can control easily, yet it rings out loud and clear with its own character.

I’m proud to bring this instrument out on a gig.  It always gets comments, both from other performers and from people in the audience.  The only complaint I have at this point is that it’s really hard to put down.  A guitarist has to sleep once in a while too, you know?

Thanks Walden,

Sean Harkness

SH

Responses

  1. […] of the same nature.  The Bistro and MAC Awards will have their own entry, H2 Duo has its own, Walden gets an article, the New York Times article will post separately, and I must post a very special […]

  2. […] of the same nature.  The Bistro and MAC Awards will have their own entry, H2 Duo has its own, Walden gets an article, the New York Times article will post separately, and I must post a very special […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

